Suura - Luwte

Groepsfoto Suura

Suura, is an acoustic quartet that is the outcome of Nicolas Van Belle's musical wanderings. For quite some time Suura has been exploring the borders of improvisation, free improvisation, sound, silence and acoustic reverberations. As a band they have concentrated on developing their own group sound. During this process, they have been assisted throughout the years by Brice Soniano, Joachim Badenhorst, Bert Cools and Frederik Leroux, among others.

The highlights of Suura's performances include: Gent Jazz, Leuven Jazz, Footprints, Citadelic, De Rore Festival and Soundtrack.

Suura recorded their debut album in July 2019, which is now ready to be released. The album was released on 6 May 2020 via the 'bwaa records' label in the form of CDs and cassettes. 

about 'LUWTE'

The 10-song CD ‘Luwte’ comprises 10 original pieces, three of which are improvisations and seven are Nicolas Van Belle compositions. These were recorded shortly after Suura's appearance at the Gent Jazz Festival. They recorded a select number of compositions along with some improvisations in which they began exploring a variety of extremes. This is how they ended up with the pieces entitled ‘Morphe I’, ‘Mophe II’ and ‘Morphe III’. The name for these pieces is derived from the word metamorphosis, which stands for transfiguration or transformation. These short improvisation pieces are the transition from an open, light colour palette at the beginning of the album, shifting to a sharper and darker palette towards the end of the recording.


  • Benjamin Hermans Clarinet, bass clarinet & baritone saxophone
  • Stan Maris Accordion & Compositions
  • Nicolas Van Belle Guitar, 12 string guitar & compositions
  • Emanuel Van Mieghem Double Bass & composition


praktische info




GC de Lijsterbes - Grote Zaal
Lijsterbessenbomenlaan 6
1950 Kraainem


  • kassa: 12 euro
  • vvk: 10 euro
  • UITpas via balie